
Genetic Testing  vs. Paternity Acknowledgement 

Should I sign the Paternity Affidavit or ask for       

Genetic Testing?  

What should I do? 

Having a new baby can be 

an exciting and emotional 

time for both the mother 

and father.  The County 

Child Support Enforcement 

Agency encourages parents 

to understand the process, 

get the facts and choose a 

method that both parents 

can trust  and rely on in the 

years ahead regarding      

Paternity  Establishment! 

Paternity Affidavit - By signing the Paternity Affidavit, it can sometimes leave uncer-
tainty or doubt about your child’s biological father in the future. 
 
Genetic Testing - By having Genetic Testing, you have absolute scientific proof of 
your baby’s biological father forever. 
 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

Q: How much does Genetic Testing Cost?    
A:  If the Paternity Affidavit has not been signed, testing may be free.  Contact the  

 Franklin County CSEA for more information at 614-525-3275. 
 
Q:  What if the affidavit is already signed and now we’d like testing? 
A: If the Paternity Affidavit has been signed, you have 60 days from the date of  the last 
 signature to request genetic testing through the CSEA where the custodial parent  
 resides. 
 
Q: Who can request Genetic Testing? 
A: Either parent can request testing through the Franklin County CSEA. 
 
Q: How soon can testing be done on my baby? 
A: Testing can be done as early as the date of birth of the child. 
 
Q: How is Genetic Testing done? 
A: Testing is performed using the buccal swab method, which is a simple, pain free 
 mouth swab of the mother, child and alleged father(s). 
 
Q: How long does it take for testing results to come back? 
 Results are returned to the agency in approximately 2 weeks. An order has to be   
 issued by the agency or court.  Parties are notified of the results by mail. 
 
Q: Who has legal custody of my newborn baby? 
A: According to Ohio law, an unmarried mother who gives birth has legal custody of her 
 child. 
 
Q: Once paternity has been established, what is the next step? 
A: The Child Support Enforcement Agency can establish a child support and 
 medical support order, as well as address the child’s surname (last name).  

Keep in Mind 
 Services are provided 

in the county in which 
the child resides 

 Genetic testing is free 
most, but not all of the 
time.   

FCCSEA 80 E. Fulton St. Columbus, Ohio 43215  Phone:  614-525-3275  Phone: 1-800-827-3740  Web:http://support.franklincountyohio.gov 

Hours: 8:00am  -  5:00pm (Monday - Friday)  


